OPPI Young Scientist
of the year


OPPI Scientist
of the year


OPPI Woman scientist
of the year

Nominations / Submissions are invited from : All Biological Research Centres and Institutions of Higher Learning recognized by Government of India and its various agencies.


Should be a scientist of Indian nationality.

Should be at least a Science / Pharmacy / Post-Graduate from a reputed university.

Eligibility for OPPI Scientist Award is above 40 years (as on the last date of application submission). Both Male and Female Scientists are eligible to apply for this Award.

Patented research work will be given additional weightage. Research work submitted should have commercial application.

The winners / recipients of the Young Scientist and Women Scientist Awards are not eligible to re-apply in the same category.

Age limit for OPPI Young Scientist Award is upto 40 years (as on the last date of application submission). Both Male and Female Scientists are eligible to apply for this Award.

Applicants should furnish a certificate from the head of the institution/laboratory where he/she is working, stating that the work submitted is original and does not violate any Intellectual Property Rights.

Discipline/Areas Covered

Dr. USN Murty
Pharmaceutics: Novel and
Improved Drug Delivery System
Dr. Ramesh Panchagnula
Pharmacology: New Models
for Evaluating Drugs
Prof. K.G. Akamanchi
Dr. M. N. Welling
Pharmacognosy & Phytochemistry:
Evaluation of Plants and Plant products for treatment of unmet medical needs


  • Awards 2020
  • Awards 2019
  • Awards 2018
  • Awards 2017
  • Awards 2016
  • Awards 2015
  • Winner of Scientist Award - Dr Debabrata Dash, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

  • Winner of Woman Scientist Award - Dr Rituparna Sinha Roy, Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISER), Kolkata

  • Winner of Young Scientist Award - Dr Arun Kumar Shukla, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur

Jury & Validator

Selection of winners are based on the recommendation of an independent panel of experts.
Dr. Shekhar C Mande

Dr. Shekhar C

Director General,
CSIR & Secretary, DSIR, New Delhi
Prof. Padmanabhan Balaram

Prof. Padmanabhan Balaram

(Former Director, IISc), DST-YoS Chair Professor,
at the National Center for Biological Sciences (NCBS), Bangalore
Prof. Seyed Ehtesham Hasnain

Prof. Seyed Ehtesham Hasnain

(Former Vice Chancellor, Jamia Hamdard), Honorary Professor,
Department of Biochemical Engineering, and Biotechnology Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi
Prof. K.G. Akamanchi

Prof. K.G. Akamanchi

Professor (Retired)
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Technology,
Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai
Dr. Ramesh Panchagnula

Prof. Y K Gupta

President AIIMS Bhopal & AIIMS Jammu,
Former Dean and Head of Pharmacology, AIIMS, New Delhi
Dr. M. N. Welling

Dr. M. N. Welling

Advisor to President - Shri Vile Parle Kelavani Mandal (SVKM) & to Chancellor -
Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies (NMIMS), Mumbai